Blogging

Blogging has taken over as the modern day diary to a great extent. I have never owned a diary in my life and always saw people who wrote in diaries especially with “Dear diary” as weird! I never could see the therapeutic effect of off-loading even if it meant only the ‘dear diary’ saw or heard your inner most feelings.  

Having a diary meant you had to guard it with your life. Some even used small padlocks or bought lockable diaries.   All hell break loose if anyone else (especially siblings) dare to have a sneak peek in the diary.

It was/is a definite ‘no’ ‘no’to peek at another’s diary. It would be called wrong, lack of respect for another’s privacy among other things. Still,blogging has taken over from the poor cousin (diary) despite the fact it is bare for anyone to read, laugh, or abuse. Not just your siblings but your enemies down to complete strangers read your blogs and even get abused for seeing things the way you do or having a differing opinion. Still people don’t seem to care.

I never owned a diary nor did I saw the need to. Still, I love owning a blog! So what is the secret enticement? Does anyone know? Is there anyone like me out there?

Perhaps it is the joy I feel when I am on the net. Perhaps it is not having to write until my hands hurt nor deal with mistakes and messy pages with constant erasing.

Perhaps I have changed! Simple as that. Still, I know that is not it. Because I still cannot imagine using a diary?!?!?!

However, I have no qualms about blogging.

7 comments so far

  1. Lady Divine on

    I think it’s the fact that whether you want to reveal your true identity is upto you and you can always type out anything and everything you want. Absolutely no restrictions.

    In a way, it is a sense of relief and also helps to see what others have to say about your views, opinions, thoughts etc.. After I started blogging, I must say I got hooked onto it and liked it..:-)

    Happy Blogging! 🙂

  2. mia on

    Thanks!
    I have a feeling I might get hooked too. Time permitting of course.

  3. Azrael on

    I got into blogging by accident. Never been a big fan of writing, but since I started blogging, I find myself quiet enjoying it. It’s like a stress buster now. Keeps the old noggin cranked up. It’s also a good way to share information.

    I don’t care if people read my blog or not (Of course it’s always nice to have some readers he he) I just do it coz I like it. I also like reading other blogs. Some are nuts, some serious, some controversial etc. But you get a pretty good idea of how other people think.

    Anyway a warm welcome to the world of blogging! Hope to read some interesting stuff on your blog.

  4. mia on

    Thanks Azrael!
    You sound like a funny bloke(?)
    I like funny people.

  5. the_jester on

    I started a sort of offline blog on my PC about a year ago, but I still cringed at the thought of people who actually blogged. Thoughts of “Went to the store today” and “Do you know how exciting it is to be a crossword puzzle designer?” rushed to my mind each time I thought of blogs. Then, i realized, why not? Not all blogs are like that…
    So it is that I started a blog.. last saturday.
    I welcome thee to the blogo.. uh.. world of blogs!

  6. Angel Eyes on

    Hi Mia,

    I happened to stumble on your blog when I was going through kottu. A few months back i used to be hooked on blogging but now unfortunately I am restrained by time. I hope to make my come back soon to the blogdome. Anyway nice to have you on board.

    Happy blogging !

  7. mia on

    Geez I am touched by the warm welcome I have recieved so far.
    Thanks the_jester and Angel eyes.


Leave a Reply

