My Heart Bleeds for Thee

I was driven down nostalgia lane around 2pm on Sunday. I was lying on the couch reading the Sunday paper enjoying the tranquillity and serenity only Sundays can and seem to exude. Suddenly the sound of soothing and lulling lounge music crept in from a distant radio. This brought upon memories of familiar sounds and times I loved as a young girl.  Familiarity of the sound, time of the day, the fact it came from a distance struck a chord.  

I can swear I heard crowing too. However, I knew there was no crow. That was just fantasy.

Unbeknownst to my conscious mind, I was reminiscing of a place, a country, I grew up in, which was peaceful and with happy people. I remember, during weekends/school holidays resting in bed in mid-afternoons, reading a book or daydreaming and suddenly lounge music would waft through the open window from a distant radio. Soothed and lulled by the soulful music, I stop what I do, craving to enjoy the moment. The comforting music was just perfect for lazy afternoons and the fact it came from a distance only added to the calming effect.  

Thinking about it was a ‘lump in the throat’ moment for me.

When I used to enjoy these moments in the bygone era – the sun always shined outside albeit not stinking hot, just perfect temperature – I could hear the occasional crowing of that ubiquitous bird.  I could hear a bus, change gear faraway on the main road and the odd car drive lazily past the house, the soft rustle and bustle of someone doing something in the house,  all  added to the reflective and dreamy ambience.

They were simple moments yet poignant enough to make me remember them fondly   

During these peaceful times, the rush hours were strictly that. Mornings   – work/school rush and evenings – after work rush. Unlike these days when every hour during the day is a rush hour, peaking ridiculously in the mornings, mid afternoons (school rush) and evenings.

There was zero fear factors involved with travelling or walking, even after dark. There were no suicide bombers or random abductions then. When we (kids) left home for school or wherever, and if we got late in coming home, only worry my mother would have is, thinking, “Oh dear, a car accident?”

During school holidays, I have travelled with my family, to the tip of the north to the deep south and from the west to the east and anywhere in between. I remember going to Jaffna and then boarding a ferry, car and all (I am not positive of the car being ferried though. That memory is vague. Perhaps it happened somewhere else) and going to Nagadeepa.

Present times – when I visit SL periodically, chaotic life at its best is evident, and I yearn for the bygone peace. One cannot even walk alone in broad daylight on lonely roads anymore. I see people suffering with living expenses soaring towards the sky. 

How sad for the people in their 20’s to know only a limited area of the beautiful country of ours?

How sad this particular generation was/is not allowed to experience a peaceful Lanka and to have pleasant memories of growing up.

Oh Lanka!

   

4 comments so far

  1. Jack Point on

    Nice post. What era are we talking of bythe way ? 1970’s ? 1980’s? 1960?

  2. mia on

    Thanks Jack.
    It was the 1970’s : )

  3. Indyana on

    Loved this post and your previous ones. I’m glad I to have found your blog!

  4. mia on

    Thanks Indiyana,

    Penning (or should I say key-in?) my thoughts is a novelty for me.
    I don’t know how long it will last. At the moment I am enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

