Pesky Telemarketers

These creatures have a habit of calling at the most inopportune times. “Can I speak to struggle with the name, please”?  Some take a different approach by asking for the person in charge of the phone account. I mumble ‘Oh no’ and slump as soon as I hear the Indian accent.

 

Sometimes, I empathize with the callers and listen and have at times signed deals, especially if it is  cheaper calling rates to SL.

Most of the time however, I try to escape using many devious methods; “mummy’s not home” is one such method.  

“When will she be home, do you know” asks he/she.

As if I would tell you’ is the thought that spring to mind…….. But “umm dunno” is the answer I give.

Ok then I’ll call another day and hangs up.

Unrelenting are they, as they keep to their promise and call again few days later- usually at the time I am in the middle of cooking dinner or putting the cooked morsels in my mouth.If it is during the latter we let the message bank get it, of course that is without knowing who the caller is, rather the desire to be undisturbed. Yet instinctively I know it is pesters at that time of the evening.  

If it is, in the middle of cooking then someone is bound to answer and call “mum” and I rush inquiring, “who is it?”

Someone wanting to speak to Mia, is the answer.

“Hello, Mia speaking”

Hello madam, this is Anand from x communications, how are you this evening?”

Ohhh…ahhh…Ooo…I moan silently while I give the daughter (usually she answers) a glaring look which implies ‘why couldn’t you say Mia’s not home’?  

I was fine just a second ago before you called, is my thought, but the answer is “I am well, thank you”

“That is good,” he says.

Liar is my thought. As if he cares.

Ma’am may I ask which country you call regularly?

You may ask but I ain’t gonna tell ya, is my thought

But “Sri Lanka” is my reply

Great! You will be pleased to hear, we at x communications have a great deal to SL and it will only cost, yada yada yada……….if you join today we will also give  blah blah blah……….

I gesture to my daughter “can you check the cooking on the stove?”

Why can’t I just be rude and say, “I just got home and I am in the middle of cooking dinner, I can’t talk now”

argh!  

Instead, I listen to the whole yarn and caboodle before saying “not at this time, thank you”

 

Why do I do that?    

Is it my SL hospitality?   

Every time I hang-up after a telemarketer….. I swear to myself – next time I will straightaway say “I am busy, I can’t talk now”. Alas that day is yet to come.

9 comments so far

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today on Pesky TelemarketersHere’s a quick excerpt These creatures have a habit of calling at the most inopportune times … for the person in charge of the phone account. I mumble ‘Oh no’ and slump as soon as I hear the Indian … to their promise and call again few days later- usually at the time I am in the middle of cooking dinner […]

  2. Azrael on

    Just pretend to be a crazy person and laugh at everything they say…

    or better yet, try to sell them something

    but the key is not to let them speak…always cut them off… 😀

  3. ~ lo$t $oul ~ on

    MIA you shud let the voice in ur head speak out louder!! or simply hang the line…

  4. R on

    Ah… the wonders of outsourcing. (The ability to equate an Indian accent to a telemarketer)

  5. The Jester on

    Simple. Just hang up in the middle of a sen[click]

    ok?

  6. The Jester on

    Unless they call back… In that case, keep a regular radio handy(Not DAB) and just play noise the next time he calls.

    Unless he’s advertising great deals on shoes, that is.

  7. indyana on

    Ah…so sorry to hear how pesky my fellow Indians can be…hehe!But, yeah.They always call at the wrong time, and I guess it would be easier for you,to tell them you aren’t interested straight away.Would save you the pain of listening to it all …and that too in an Indian accent ! yikes…I’m sure you’d kill me if I called!;P

  8. mia on

    Azreal and LS
    You both think alike. : ) Calls are getting ridiculously high. I might go mad. Literally.

    R,
    Yes, it is a big joke here. Most people imitate the telemarketers’ accent and are very annoyed because most callers are v. pushy. From what I gather SL will enter that sphere soon too. Oh God help me.

    Jester,
    I am gearing myself to do that. I only have to jump that first hurdle of not feeling guilty for being rude, after that it will be a breeze to hang up mid-sentence.
    “Unless he’s advertising great deals on shoes, that is”
    Ha ha you are so funny, did you know that? 😛

    Indyana,
    It is v. hard to say I am not interested at the beginning because they never listen but just relay their piece. I also have the guilt of knowing, the poorest of the poor do these jobs. I have to convince myself that I am not helping them by just listening, or do I? I wonder if they get a commission for the number of people contacted not necessarily sell.

  9. enTRpy on

    Thank God for the “Do not call” list. Probably the only one thing that Bush came up with which is worth any praise. Before the existence of the said list I used to listen to their first pitch out of politeness and if they tried to insist, I just hung up on them :).


Leave a Reply

