Presumptuous Mother

Instead of torturing myself wondering, ‘did she or did she not see the blog name?’. ‘Is she searching for it like mad’?  I decided to tackle the bull by its horns.

I respect my children and their privacy.  So I can ask the same in return, can’t I? Somehow it doesn’t seem to work that way. Everything they own is password protected but they can’t understand why, I, their mother needs the same independence.I am just the mother, not a person with needs or feelings. So I go through the periodical “what’s your password, mum” Especially from the nosy parker son. “If you tell me yours, I’ll tell you mine” is my usual answer. That usually shuts him up. I know his inquisitiveness has nothing to do with going into my account and snooping, because when I ask him to do things for me, I log on and walk away. It is in fact more to do with the mystery of the unknown and wanting to know.   

So while driving the daughter somewhere I struck up a conversation “Can I ask you not to search for my blog or read it if you have already found it?”   “I respect your privacy and I am asking the same in return”.

“Huh, what are you talking about?”

🙂 

She has forgotten already that she even asked to read it. That proved how deeply interested she was.    

With a relieved mind I quickly said “Er…never mind, forget it”. I quickly changed the subject before I jog her memory any further. Perhaps that was a wrong move by me. Perhaps I should’ve still reminded her and pointed out the fact I need the freedom to express and ask her to respect that. Maybe I’ll ask that of her another day. Yes I think I should.

Isn’t she gorgeous? Such deep, long lasting interest in the mother!

What was I thinking? That she gave a rat’s to go on a searching mission?

Jeez!

6 comments so far

  1. Lady Divine on

    Looks like u really are toubled by it….

    good thing she doesn’t seem too keen about finding you here…:-)

    now you can relax…

  2. Indyana on

    I swear we think we think we are too important don’t we? Sadly we aren’t!

  3. The jester on

    Tis a common tactic used by teens. Feign a look of ignorance on the matter, then put our brain into high gear. It takes only a slight mention to provoke this! I fear you might have spurred your daughter on by your mention. But don’t worry. Since you haven’t used actual names, or discussed specific details, she won’t find it with a simple search.

  4. Nishadha on

    I have to agree with jester , she might look disinterested but I’m sure she’s searching for it. btw what’s the classification of teen , < 25 ?

  5. Jack Point on

    If you publish there is always a risk of being read i suppose.

  6. mia on

    LD,
    I was… because I didn’t know how she would take it. Whether she would tell her friends etc

    Indyana,
    He he I know. But then again come to think of it we were the same with our mothers weren’t we?

    Jester,
    I have a feeling she asked to read the blog while waiting for yet another of her downloads to finish and didn’t really care either way. 🙂

    Nishadha,
    In that case I think I’d better talk to her again. Teenage years begin at 13 and end at 19

    G’day Jack, nice to see you in this neck of the woods. Hope you are keeping well : )


Leave a Reply

